September 29, 2010

Some of my Durham community from DAC summer arts camp

This Sunday is going to be a tremendously fun, hardworking day for me. I’m volunteering with the Scrap Exchange team that has worked so hard for months to create a free public event with music and storytelling and arts activities and picnics on the grass in order to take a Durham Community Portrait. They’ve reached out to every corner of our city and I can’t wait to see who shows up.

At 10:30 am on Sunday, October 3rd, DCP team members will starting getting the site prepared, largely under the awning at the Durham Farmer’s Market, with parties spilling onto blankets on the lawn. By noon I’ll have joined them to set up my “Make Your Own Story” area right next to the Scrap Exchange arts activity area. Children of all ages are welcomed to pick an object from the art area and bring it into the story circle where we’ll make up a story to go with your re-treasured object. I can hardly wait to discover our stories in community.

At 1:00 pm sharp, Don’t Miss This, all the people (who will dress in blue so get out your old t’shirts and denims) will stand on the lawn, many lofting large cardboard shields decorated with this and that and scraps of fabric and buttons and blue plastic bottle caps above their heads toward the sky. An aerial photographer will take our photograph. My friend Kalil wrote across his banner already the words, “We are Durham.” I can’t wait to see who else makes us that in community.

After the photograph, entertainment will begin with Slim Pickins performing from the stage. I’ll follow him, gulp, with some community tales and be followed by more music in turn. (I’m scheduled to perform my funny story for all ages from 2:00 – 2:30 pm.)

After that I’ll stick around until Pippin’s supper time, doing whatever is helpful if I’m able. The event ends at 4 pm to make way for the evening Blues Festival in the Park.

It promises to be a fine day. You’re welcome to join us.

Warmly, Jenny

Leave a Reply

