October 11, 2010

Bakiz, Lion & Peacock, DAC Summer Arts Camp 2010

I taught my first drama class when I was seventeen. A Quaker gentleman named Henry hired me for his after school arts program in Charlotte’s old downtown inner-city. He taught me to treat each child with complete respect while setting and maintaining a clear structure of behavioral expectations and agreements. His style provided the foundation for my collaborative, whole-learning approach to arts education.

I was thinking about this today because the first class of the Durham Family Theatre begins tomorrow — Fractured Fairy Tales — and though I’ve been teaching students of all ages for nearly 40 years, I’m taking deep breathes to manage the extra excitement I feel. Because though I’ve taught for so many years, this is the first time I’ve taught for my own theatre. What I teach and how I teach and what the students experience together will help create DFT’s atmosphere and approach to learning.

Practically, teaching the first class of FFT tomorrow means I’m putting together a framework for six-weeks of collaborate exploration into acting, fairy tales and creative writing with a group of children from 5 – 8 years old. Can you imagine many things more fun than that?

There’s still room left to join the Thursday night Adult Acting Studio and the Friday, Make em’ Laugh, class and we’re accepting students aged 9 – 12. Sign Up Now and Join the Creativity.

Warmly, Jenny

One response to “October 11, 2010

  1. Hello! I would love to publicize your events in my free, weekly e-newsletter, The Durham Macaroni Kid. Please email me at allisonc@mamcaronikid.com to discuss this further!

    Thanks for the blog posts – they are great!

    Allison

Leave a Reply

