October 12, 2010

Dancing at DAC Summer Arts Camp 2010

My computer partner and I just won our game of Canasta and I finished off a second night of a fabulous black bean, summer veggies and basmati rice concoction. I’m about to hunker down for three hours or so of editing 4,000 words out of an interview that will be published on the Duke University Faith & Leadership website (it’s one of my other jobs that I love,) but I wanted to pause for a moment and say what a great time we had in the first DFT Fractured Fairytales class this afternoon.

Seven of the funniest students I’ve ever met (aged 5 – 7 1/2 ) gathered in the lovely fellowship hall at Trinity United Methodist Church with its dark wooden stage and dark stained wood pillars holding up the ceiling in rows that outline the middle of the room like trees about to dance. The pillars make great hiding places and the students have already invented a hide-n-seek tag game I look forward to figuring out. We’ve also got the bones of an hysterical fractured telling of Cinderella. The story is a secret, because we want to surprise the family and friends who come to see our performance on the final day, but I can’t resist saying that the title of our fractured tale will most likely be “Hot Dog Ella.”

That’s it for the night. I hope yours is fine. (And there’s still one day left to register for either the Thursday evening Adult Acting Studio or the Friday, Make ’em Laugh class for 9-12-year-olds.)

Warmly, Jenny

One response to “October 12, 2010

  1. Congratulations on launching the first DFT class, and thanks for the description. I could almost smell the fun.
    As a parent who in my child’s younger years put a fair amount of energy looking for “enrichment” activities/child care options, it occurs to me that I might not have looked closely at “acting classes,” if acting or some kind of theatre work were not something my child seemed drawn to. Knowing how what you do in your classes is so much more than theatre – developing self-esteem, creativity, just plain having fun – would have been useful. Thanks for your work!

Leave a Reply

